## 2012 ELECTORAL COLLEGE DEMOCRATIC ELECTORS HOUSE CHAMBER STATE CAPITOL, RICHMOND DECEMBER 17, 2012 AT NOON

## **AGENDA**

- 1. Call to order by Chair of the State Board of Elections, The Honorable Charles E. Judd
- 2. Welcoming remarks, The Honorable Robert F. McDonnell, Governor
- 3. Roll call of 13 Electors
- 4. Appointment of pages for the College of Electors
- 5. Invocation, Secretary Donald L. Palmer
- 6. Pledge of Allegiance, Vice Chair Kimberly T. Bowers
- 7. Administration of oath of office to the Electors by The Honorable William C. Mims, Justice of the Virginia Supreme Court
- 8. Appointment of an Elector as temporary presiding officer
- 9. Adoption of order of business
- 10. If any vacancy exists:
  - (a) Fill as prescribed by § 24.2-203 of the Code of Virginia
  - (b) Administration of oath by Justice Mims to new Elector, if any
- 11. Election of president of the College of Electors
- 12. Election of secretary of the College of Electors
- 13. Electors cast votes for President of the United States. Each Elector votes by roll call.
- 14. The Secretary of the Electors counts votes cast for each person and reports total votes cast to the President.
- 15. The President announces the votes cast.
- 16. Electors cast votes for Vice President of the United States. Each Elector votes by roll call.

- 17. The Secretary of the Electors counts votes cast for each person and reports total votes cast to the President.
- 18. The President announces the votes cast.
- 19. The College certifies the vote for President and Vice President in accordance with the requirements of the United States Code and the Code of Virginia. Each of the 13 Electors signs the required number of Certificates of the Vote (Form SBE-9 or SBE-9A).
- 20. The envelopes of endorsement are signed by each Elector certifying that the lists of all the votes of the Commonwealth of Virginia for President, and all of the votes given for Vice President, are contained therein when sealed. The Secretary of the Electors assembles six sets of Certificates -- each set containing Form SBE-9A, (or Form SBE-9 if necessary to be completed) and a Certificate of Ascertainment executed by the Governor -- and seals them in the six envelopes.
- 21. The **six** sets, as directed by law, are distributed as follows:
  - (a) **One**, forthwith by registered mail, to the Honorable Joseph P. Biden, Jr., President of the United States Senate, The United States Senate, Washington, DC 20510.
  - (b) **Two**, to the Honorable Janet Vestal Kelly, Secretary of the Commonwealth of Virginia, 1111 East Broad Street, 4<sup>th</sup> floor, Capitol Square, Richmond, Virginia, 23219.
  - (c) One, to the Honorable Rebecca Beach Smith, Judge of the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia, 600 Granby Street, Norfolk, Virginia 23510
  - (d) **Two**, on December 17, 2012, by registered mail, to David Ferriero, Archivist of the United States, National Archives and Records Administration, 800 N. Capitol St. NW, Ste. 700, Washington, DC 20001.
- 22. A seventh certificate will be presented to Dr. Sandra G. Treadway, Librarian of Virginia, by the President of the Electors.
- 23. The Secretary of the 2012 Electoral College shall prepare and read the minutes of the meeting, which are then approved by the College and signed by each Elector.
- 24. Adjournment.